četrtek, 9. april 2015

MANNOR SOTESKA (AINÖD)

 
Historical region Carniola
Author: Hugo Gerard Ströhl 1890


Mannor Ainöd from the book,
Die Ehre dess Hertzogthums Crain in 1689
Author:  Johann Weichard Valvasor
LOCATION
Country: Slovenia
Historical region: Lower Carniola
Municipality: Dolenjske Toplice
Settlement: Soteska
GPS:45°46'48,41" N 15°1'8,81" E










HISTORY:
Mannor Soteska was built by Count Jurij Ziga Gallenberg between years1664 and 1689. Mannor was by Valvasor´s opinion, one of the finest in the land of Carniola. On the opposite bank of the river Krka are the ruins of a medieval castle old Ainöd. Mannor was built on the site of the previous demolished tower mentioned as turren Aynod in 1454. After the year 1840 was in mannor an operating brewery. On the October 22, 1943 manor was looted and burned down. Locals used it as a quarry.

LEGEND: 
In the immediate vicinity of the mannor stands the Devil´s turn. About him circulates a story that the lord of the mannor Soteska in times of severe poverty from settlers requested tax which they were not able to pay, and in return the lord demanded that farmers send him their daughters over which he exercised his sexual desire. Farmers cursed the tower and gave it the name of Devil's Tower.

PICTURES: 
Author: Franz Kurz zum Thurn und Goldenstein (1834-1867)

MAPS:
Franciscan cadastre of Carniola (1823-1869)

CASTLE OLD SOTESKA (ALT AINÖD)


Historical region Carniola
Author: Hugo Gerard Ströhl 1890

Municipality: Dolenjske Toplice
LOCATION
Country: Slovenia
Historical region: Lower Carniola
Municipality: Dolenjske Toplice
Settlement: Loška vas
GPS:45°46′50.63″N 15°0′40.49″E
Castle alt Ainöd from the book,
Die Ehre dess Hertzogthums Crain in 1689
Author:  Johann Weichard Valvasor
NAME:
The word soteska (ainöd) means ravine or canyon. 

HISTORY:
The castle was first mentioned in 1313 as Ainöd, even though according to the testimony of historian Valvasor it stood as early as 1231. The castle was destroyed by warlord Jan Vitovec in 1440 in war with the Habsburgs. In the year 1506 it was abandoned. According to Valvasor the castle was surrounded by triple walls and towers. The castle stood on a rock and had prisons cut in the rock, where they imprisoned and tortured Turks. The Turks gave it special name of "Green Castle".

sreda, 8. april 2015

CASTLE KRUPA (KRUPP)

Historical region Carniola
Author: Hugo Gerard Ströhl 1890
Municipality: Semič

LOCATION
Country: Slovenia
Historical region: Lower Carniola
Municipality: Semič
Settlement: Stranska vas pri Semiču
GPS:45°37'53,91" N 15°13'32,55" E

Castle Krupa from the book,
Die Ehre dess Hertzogthums Crain in 1689
Author:  Johann Weichard Valvasor










NAME:
Name Krupa is derived from the nearby river Krupa.

HISTORY:
First written mention of the castle is from the year 1427 as castrum Cruppa. It was probably built in the 13th century but all medieval records are lost. In 1565 castle Krupa was attacked and looted by the Turks. In 1942 castle was set on fire and it burned for two weeks. Later locals used castle ruins for qarrying stones for building new houses.

PICTURES:
Castle Krupa in 1893, author: Jos. Germ.
Ruins of the castle

OWNERS:
Before the year 1374 and to the year1418 it was owned by Counts Ortenburg
1418 - 1456 Counts Cilli     
at the end of 15th century Andrej pl. Hohenwart       
1483 -1704 Counts Purgstal
1704 Johann Michael Androk
1710 Count Franc Adam Lamberg   
1723 Count Karl Henrik Wazenberg   
1723 -1735 Count Franc Bernard Lamberg
Approximate from1735 - 1772 Peter Paul pl. Bonazzi
1773 -1796 baroness Apfaltrer-Bonazzi   
1796 -1904 baron family Apfaltrer       
1904 -1912 Danijel Makar and Julij Macele   
1914 -1918 Land bank in Prague       
1918 Josip Zurc    


MAPS:
Military map of Castle Krupa (1763-1787)
Source: http://mapire.eu/en/
Franciscan cadastre of Carniola (1823-1869)

MANSION DOMINECE (DOMINITSCHOFF)

Historical region Carniola
Author: Hugo Gerard Ströhl 1890
Municipality: Metlika
Author:  Johann Weichard Valvasor

 LOCATION
Country: Slovenia
Historical region: Lower Carniola
Municipality: Metlika
Settlement: Mlake
GPS:45°36'4,04" N 15°15'40,93" E
Mansion Krasinec from the book,
Die Ehre dess Hertzogthums Crain in 1689
Author:  Johann Weichard Valvasor
HISTORY:
Manson Dominece was built by Peter Dominič who owned the estate in 1563 and named it after itself. In the late 17th century the owners were noble family of Gusič. In 1888 the owner was Henrik Grünwald and in 1896 Emanuel Kühnel.

torek, 7. april 2015

MANSION KRASINEC (CRASSINZ)

 
Municipality: Metlika
Author:  Johann Weichard Valvasor

Historical region Carniola
Author: Hugo Gerard Ströhl 1890
LOCATION
Country: Slovenia
Historical region: Lower Carniola
Municipality: Metlika
Settlement: Krasinec
GPS:unknown
Mansion Krasinec from the book,
Die Ehre dess Hertzogthums Crain in 1689
Author:  Johann Weichard Valvasor
NAME:
The name Krasinec means splendid.

HISTORY:
According to written account of historian Johann Weichard Valvasor, the mansion  Krasinec was built in the year 1686. The mansion was built on the site of a previous castle estate which has already been burned down twice by Vlachs. On the location of the mansion was a big pigeon house. Due to the exposure of incursion army predatory attacks the mansion was abandoned and destroyed. From the late 18th century mansion is no longer mentioned.
  
OWNERS: 
The only known owner of the mansion Krasinec was its builder Johann Adam nobleman Purgstall. In the year 1715 is mentioned Jurij Sigfrid Purgstall who died in the mansion but was not its owner.


Castle owners B/Purgstall
SOURCE:
http://sl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dvorec_Krasinec 
http://www.slosi.info/01gradovi/02podrobnejse/dolenjska/k-1/krasinec.php

sreda, 1. april 2015

CASTLE GRADAC (GRADEZ)

Historical region Carniola
Author: Hugo Gerard Ströhl 1890
Municipality: Metlika
Author:  Johann Weichard Valvasor


LOCATION
Country: Slovenia
Historical region: Lower Carniola
Municipality: Metlika
Settlement: Gradac
GPS:45°36'48,61" N 15°14'46,55" E




Castle Gradac from the book,
Die Ehre dess Hertzogthums Crain in 1689
Author:  Johann Weichard Valvasor



NAME:
Name Gradac shows to the previous late ancient fortyfied settlement on the location of the castle and the name was later transfered to the castle.

HISTORY:
First indirect written mention of the castle is from the year 1393 as Grecz schloß. It was supposed to be build just before the year 1300 by Mainhard Auersperg.

COAT OF ARMS: 
Coat of arms of noble family Gussich and previous owners of the castle,
 on the door in front of the castle

OWNERS:
Castle owners from left to wright: Auersperg, B/Purgstall, Gusitch


PICTURES:



MAPS:
Military map of Castle Gradec (1763-1787)
Source: http://mapire.eu/en/

 
Franciscan cadastre of Carniola (1823-1869)

petek, 27. marec 2015

CASTLE AND CITY METLIKA (MÖTTLING)

Municipality: Metlika
Author:  Johann Weichard Valvasor
Historical region Carniola
Author: Hugo Gerard Ströhl 1890

LOCATION
Country: Slovenia

Historical region: Lower Carniola
Municipality: Metlika
City: Metlika
GPS:45°39'5,6" N 15°19'3,37" E





Castle and city Metlika from the book,
Die Ehre dess Hertzogthums Crain in 1689
Author:  Johann Weichard Valvasor
NAME:
The origin of the name Metlika has supposed to came from fugitive people of Japods from their former capital city Metulum, which was conquered by the Romans with twelve legions in 33 BC. Survivors of the newly established town named it Metlika in the memory of the lost city.

HISTORY: 
First written mention of the castle Metlika is from the year 1338 as Möttling. In the year 1431 castle and city Metlika were conquered by  8.000 headed army of the Turks. City was then still largely built of wood and Turks managed to kill most of the population and the rest were taken as prisoners of war to be sold as slaves, the church was torn down and valuables stolen. The settlement was fortified in to a city in the 15th century because of the Turkish threats. Castle was in the begining and at the end of 18th century burned down but later rebuild.

COAT OF ARMS: 
On a white shield is a depiction of a red tower with two raven guards. White is a metal colour that represents purity, cleanliness, innocence, wisdom and joy. The tower represents safety and grandeur, color read represents right, strength, courage, dignity and love. The black ravens represents divine providence and colour black perseverance, humility, peace, death, ruin and sadness.
Coat of arms of the city Metlika
Author:  Johann Weichard Valvasor
LEGEND:  
In old days Metlika was just a village. One of the lord commanded the settlers to built castle Pungart next to the village, which was guarded by castle guards. In the castle lived an evil countess. She took from farmers their grain, wine and livestock. Anyone who resisted was sent to prison where they were thrown to the bottom of the castle tower, left to die.The Countess cursed whenever she got angry. When she did, then everyone froze with terror and fear. Whomever she cursed was turned into stone.One day the Turks started attacking close to Metlika. The Countess orderd her guards to wake up all the servants if they got closer to the castle. One night the guards fell asleep and Turks climbed the walls and broke into to the castle. Countess realized that the Turks had come. She was angry and miserable cursed the two guards. Her curse has turned them into a black ravens, which flew on the roof of the castle tower. The Turks killed the evil Countess and burned down the castle. Only castle tower remained, which the fire has not touched. The Turks have repeatedly attacked Metlika but settlers have heroically fought against them and therefore got city rights and Metlika became a city.Over time, the castle tower collapsed into dust and of castle Pungart was left no trace. With the help of this story was created city coat of arms, which represents the castle tower and the two seated enchanted guards turned into ravens.

OWNERS:
In the 16th century the owners were Counts Allaps, next were croatian nobleman Frankopans. In the 18th century the ownership of the castle was under Zagreb Cathedral Chapter, after fire in 1790 the owner become innkeeper Jozef Savinsek. In 1899, Savinsek sold Castle Metlika to People's Loan Bank of Ljubljana.

PICTURES:
Source: http://www.kamra.si/Default.aspx?module=7&id=3654
MAPS: 
Military map of Castle and market Weinitz (1763-1787)
Source: http://mapire.eu/en/
Franciscan cadastre of Carniola (1823-1869)
SOURCE:
http://www.kamra.si/Default.aspx?module=5&id=514